• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Tailgate "Work bench" Piece

mwf5888

First Name
Michael
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 KR PowerBoost FX4 & 2019 Escape Titanium
Occupation
Lead Training Manager, Design
I ended up with the work bench because I bought off the lot last year and it came with power tailgate. The step is hugely useful - this is my first time owning a truck and did not appreciate just how absurdly high the gate is, and I am someone who gets in and out of the back a lot. As someone under 40 though my machismo won't ever let me pull out the poll handle. Maybe once I cross that number in a few years that will change...

Everything else though feels a bit gimmicky. Power tailgate is complete gimmick. Having a ruler has been handy a few times, but I'm not a contractor who is regularly working out of the back. If I were I probably would just have more dedicated tools at the ready.

I did do LineX for the interior and they did not spray under/around the work surface. LineX thought that it would interfere with the power tailgate sensor (one more reason having it powered is dumb). The work surface itself has held up well so far but everything around it is scratched to shit. I think though if it ever broke or got too beat up I'd probably just bring it back to LineX and have them coat the tailgate.
I have the Power Tailgate, Step, and Work Surface. I love the Power Tailgate when I am dropping my wife at the door and then drive up when she walks out and I can open and then close the tailgate for her. I also enjoy the 'knee' feature with the Power Tailgate when my hands are full and I can just lift it upwards with my knee and it closes.