Sponsored

Why switch adapters now?

JZinger

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 Lariat ER
With Tesla’s abrupt decision to lay off its electric-vehicle charging team and reduce its investments in public charging, why would Ford and others continue with their move to NACS adapters? This is an honest question as I'm not an electrical engineer and don't know the benefits of NACS over CCS other than the current inventory of Tesla Superchargers. Many of us, myself included, installed the FCSP at home. If the change to NACS over CCS is implemented we will be required to by an additional adapter if we were to purchase another EV of PHEV a few years from now. If Tesla has been the gold standard for the implementation of public charging then it would make sense for Ford and other legacy automakers to snatch up these recently fired employees and become the new standard bearer in public charging infrastructure.
Sponsored

Maineiac12

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2024 F-150 Lightning Flash 312A
The NACS plug is now an SAE standard design so that is safe.

The real concern is Tesla supercharger reliability going down the drain or Tesla backing out of existing agreements.

I don’t have a preference on plug design but I think all car makers should standardize on one design. It’ll only help EV adoption going forward.

carys98

First Name
Cary
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 Lightning Lariat SR