Sponsored

Forging creeks

MaintGrl

First Name
Marsha
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 XLT Lightning, Anti-Matter Blue SR (311a)
Occupation
Retired CWEA Grade 3 Maintenance Technician
Hello ⚡ folks,
I'm a relative EV newbie, I was pondering a dilemma.
In my area, we have been experiencing heavy rains here in the SF Bay area.
With my 06 Taco 4x4, & work Trucks, I had forged large puddles occasionally, pushing non flowing water to get to the other side.
What is the capability of the Lightning?, would you try it? or would it be, water & electricity don't mix?
Any thoughts, or your experience in a similar situ.
Thank you for any insights....
Sponsored

Skidrowe

First Name
Gideon
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 F-150 Lightning ER, 2014 Honda Pilot
There was a post during flood in the past where a guy showed a video of him fording water up to his bumper and he reported no adverse effects. I've seen others post what Ford's official guidance is, but don't recall specifics. You'll be mostly fine until you aren't.

invertedspear

Threads
Reaction score
Website
lightningcalcs.pages.dev
Vehicles
Antimatter Blue XLT (312A) ER, 2004 Jeep TJ
Pretty standard guidance in any vehicle is to not go past your axle, and to not cross water where you can't see the bottom. That being said, all the electronics should be sealed and probably won't have any issues if you go to the bottom of your doors. But The cabin and frunk aren't waterproof if submerged, so you're running a risk there. Also, if you're near the coast I'd avoid any chance of running through saltwater, as that's just inviting rust.

Last edited:

Fastnf

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 F150 lightning
I have a stream I ford during the winter months when I go into town. Usually 6" to 18" deep and 30 feet across. If its more than 2 feet I will usually wait for it to go down. Its concrete lined at the crossing so no issues with sinking deeper. I have had no problems crossing it in the year I have owned the truck