Jseis

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
July 2021 SR MME, July 2023, Lightning Lariat
Ford F-150 Lightning Lightning Commuter 10,000 miles in 5 months. IMG_1643

Heading home at 9,999.9 miles!

Long post follows

First of all, I enjoy this forum. I learn from other’s experiences. My comments are based on my real world experiences. I’m a conservative driver having learned the hard way in a half-century+ of driving that Easy Does It, I’ve had enough near misses to know the difference between certain death and thank god I’m alive. As a motorcyclist from the age of 12 as well as long term bicyclist, my self-radar serves me well at evaluating other drivers and avoiding situations.

I’ve essentially hyper-miled every vehicle I’ve ever owned and my 2.5 mi/KWh average in 10K miles is a result. The hyper-mile mental state probably came from watching my father driving a 53’ flathead Ford custom sedan with overdrive! Then my high school Honda SL 350 that was tough to get 100+ miles out of on a tank (the way I rode it 🤪).

The LT lives in a partially heated garage (slab on grade floor stays at say 54 degrees with a water heater adding very modest heat). Since I leave for work at the same time every day, preconditioning works well. Leaving work in the late afternoon in winter can be a cold eve though. The truck heats up quickly and I usually drive at temp set at 65 F degrees if outside temps are below 45 F.

This is how I use the LT daily.