Sponsored

Best way to plan a long trip?

Highpockets

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Lightning Platinum
I am relatively new to the EV game and am planning my first long trip with my ER Lightning. I will be traveling from north east PA (through NY) to Northern MN. What is the best way to plan my charging stops? I have the Chargepoint app, the Tesla app (and adapter), and the Ford Nav. Are there better apps? I have read a post here that says the truck preconditions if I use Ford Nav and set the charger as a destination. Is this important? How about charging at hotels? Is this realistic/dependable? Lots of questions. Thanks for your help!
Sponsored

RickLightning

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
'22 Lightning ER Lariat,'22 Mach-E Premium 4X
Many threads on this. ABRP, and check every charger on Plugshare. Hotel charging is sometimes free, but you will need to decide how far you want to drive each day, and then pick an area to look for hotel charging (PlugShare). I use ABRP, and then force my overnight stop in it.

Do you have a Tesla Destination adapter? https://amzn.to/3VKCrgu

JRT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Lightning
Plan on A Better Route Planner (ABRP) and have the app on your phone. Don't trust the Ford Nav for charging, it will route you to slow chargers and in general be a big pain. Look for 150kwh chargers 1st or better V3 and V4 Tesla. Not all Tesla are compatible.

JRT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Lightning
I plan the route first, verify the chargers reviews in PlugShare, then have the list of chargers and navigate to them individually. Ford nav will recalculate if you load points and in general is just terrible compared to just running google navigation.

Webbo85

First Name
Marc
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 F150 Lightning Lariat ER, 2002 Jeep Wrangler
Occupation
Mech Engineer
100% what Rick and JRT said. Best and most reliable way to do it.

Sponsored
OP
OP

Highpockets

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Lightning Platinum