• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Will it fit me?

Azpt22

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 Lariat ER
Hello everyone,

New to the forum and hoping to receive some insight into a big upcoming vehicle decision.

A little backstory - I work in sales and currently have a company vehicle. I am in the process of accepting a new position which does not have this benefit and thus am looking to purchase a vehicle of my own.

I want a 2023 Lariat ER which is why I am here -just curious on how you think it would fit my situation…

I average daily commuting between 60 miles up to 200 miles, and ~3 days per month where I must travel ~400 miles round trip to and from a rural site.

I live in Phoenix, Arizona so it gets hot, but of course avoids frigid winters.

I would be parking the truck outside and likely installing the Ford power pack for home charging. Only charging outside the home on my round trip commutes where it’s unavoidable.

I have read up quite a bit on the Ligtning and here are some concerns:

- Highway driving: In AZ I will be on a highway/freeway a lot due to how sprawling it is here. How much will this realistically crush my range?

- Charging time: Using Tesla’s network is awesome, but sounds like the time it takes to charge a Lightning is painful. Can this ever improve with OTAs or are these models limited like this forever?

- Heat: I know the battery has a protection feature for hot temps, but this is only active when plugged in. During my work day I may travel 200 total miles but this could include visiting 3 different locations and parking (unconnected) in the hot sun. Will this significantly impact my range, overall battery health, etc. to where I am regretting having the truck in a year or two?