• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Anyone done a deep dive into real Level 2 charge efficiency?

Nklem

First Name
Norm
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
23 Lightning XLT SR, Max Tow, 23 Maverick Hybrid
Occupation
Engineer
I am a Mechanical Engineer and truly enjoy my Lightning and love to do EV calcs as well proving real energy performance.

We drove 234 Miles on a charge this weekend with 30 miles remaining. Great range, 264 from an SR. No complaints at all. We started with 97.96 kWh in the pack, a true 100% charge. (I have never got that close to rated capacity in any EV).

I am Still trying to get accurate level 2 charging efficiency results. So far it shows the lightning is pretty low.

I have owned 6 EVs. Every one with the exception of the Lightning makes sense with charging energy at home and In vs Out energy. All of my cars were scanned many times and computed repetitively. 8% 2-Hyundai’s (53K miles) and 1-Toyota/Subaru (4K miles) and 10% 2-Mach E losses over 27K miles. I would think the Lightning would be 10% as well or better but it is not.

The Lightning is either really inefficient at a level 2, has inaccurate BMS kWh reporting or uses a ton of energy to condition the battery while charging. My calcs show 80-81% real 32 Amp Level 2 Efficiency for the Lightning on two separate metered events. All power in to all power absorbed by the pack.

Last night I plugged into home and set the charge level to 60%.