• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Using a Lightning for swimming pool routes. Yay or nay?

SMBJoshy

First Name
Josh
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2017 F-150
So I’m a swimming pool tech of 10+ years, doing chemicals and cleanings for private home pools. I work for a company, have to use my own truck. Currently have a 2017 F150 Lariat, it’s going to the shop next week for cam phasers. I do this job 5 days a week year round, and drive 100 to 130 miles a day, and it def costs me quite a bit in fuel, around 35-40 daily. And it’s by far my biggest expense, more than my monthly payments for the truck.

I know an EV truck would be around a third the cost of ICE truck in energy and that’s what is really drawing me towards the Lightning, because it comes down to I really hate spending what I am on gas at this point, and the additional amount for maintenance, esp this cam phaser/timing set repair that’s gonna cost me 4 grand. But a significant part of me is like “is this gonna be practical for me? Is the charging network good enough in Virginia Beach where I can find a fast enough charger that it won’t interfere much with my work if I’m in a pinch? How is the battery going to hold up after several years and 150k miles?”

Thoughts?
Sponsored

Maxx

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
23 Pro, Sky RL, Frontier, Aurora V8, Buicks, ....
for 100 - 130 miles a day, you should not need DCFC if you can charge at home. In fact if you only do DCFC, there is no cost advantage to ICE.

I would get a Extended range battery so you have peace of mind after a few years if you lose 10-20 percent of range. And you don't have to push the upper and lower limit of the battery. This way you will be OK in winter as well.